What is Yoga, after all?

This is a big question, and there is more than one answer to it. Each of us can find their own answers, their own benefits in Yoga.

Yoga is much more than a workout, more than a practice –
It is a kind of lifestyle. It is about being kind to the people around you, kind to yourself, to nature, to everything that surrounds you.

The word Yoga comes from Sanskrit and means unity. A unity between body, mind, and soul.

Ausrüstung für Klettern, Bergsport und Outdoor bei kaufen

Yoga has its origins in India and has gained in popularity in the west in the 20th century.

Generally when we hear Yoga, we think about the Asana (physical) Practice. But this is only one of the many limbs of Yoga.

Find out more about what Yoga entails.


The Eight Limbs of Yoga by Patanjali

1. Yamas (ethical standards) –   For example speaking the truth, no harm towards anybody/anything

2. Niyamas (personal standards) – For example being modest, reflecting, looking after yourself

3. Asana (physical practice)

4. Pranayama (breathing control and techniques)

5. Pratyahara (drawing your attention inwards)

6. Darhana (Focus and concetration)

7. Dhyana (Meditation)

8. Samadhi (final stage, enlightenment)